Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: SJPN received for failure to identify driver and speeding but all previous documentation sent to incorrect addresses
FightBack Forums > Queries > Speeding and other Criminal Offences
Patch44
Hello, I'm hoping for some helpful advice on my case - I have no experience of offences like this so any further information is massively appreciated.

Yesterday I received a SJPN which details two charges: - Failure to give information relating to the identity of the driver when required and - Exceeding 50mph speed limit in contravention of a Local Traffic Order.
This SJPN is the first document I've received regarding either offence. I never received a NIP or any other information prior to this but here's the details of how this has happened:

The speeding offence was recorded as 58mph in a 50mph zone captured by manned equipment and was for a rental van that I was detailed as renting at the time in August 2020. I was moving house in this rental van so a couple of days after the offence, I changed my address on my driving licence. Then in October 2020 I received an email from the rental company informing me that they had received notice of a traffic violation and were passing on my details - the rental company still had my old address on their records so I told them my new address and they confirmed that they passed this on to the issuing agency for them to reissue the fine in my name & correct address. I then heard nothing more until yesterday when I received the SJPN hand delivered by the previous occupant of my new address... they had received it with an incorrect Royal Mail redirection sticker sending it onto their new address and opened it before realising it was not for them.