Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Speeding offences and license suspension... (help)
FightBack Forums > Queries > Speeding and other Criminal Offences
timster908
To start off, I got all of these speeding tickets (5 in total) within one month during work whilst in the work vehicles (I am a delivery driver for a supermarket). I attended the speed awareness course to decrease the total number of points I'd be getting. For all of these tickets, I drove over the speed limit by about 6-8mph on motorways only, all from average speed check cameras. I have never gotten any speeding offence within my 5 years of driving until last year November when I received FOUR at once. I am currently at 9pts on my license, however, I have recently received the court forms (notice of proposed driving disqualification) and now I am worried about what to do.

My situation is a little weird and unique as by the end of the year/start of next year I will be moving to South Africa. Between now and then I will need my license for work as I drive for a living and need to maintain an income. Because my offences were not severe (over 6-8mph on motorways), would I incur a smaller penalty? Or is there any way I can avoid the maximum penalty?
Jlc
QUOTE (timster908 @ Fri, 4 Jun 2021 - 13:24) *
Or is there any way I can avoid the maximum penalty?

I'm not sure what you mean by this. But it seems you will reach 12 points and will then be facing a 6 months totting ban.

Once this is triggered you have the opportunity to submit an Exceptional Hardship plea to the court to reduce that ban, potentially to none. How the points were accumulated is irrelevant - only the merits of your plea are considered.

The point system is a bit of a blunt instrument as you've found. 4 or 5 'minor' speeding offences can result in a 6 months ban whereas the top end of careless driving could see 9 points without any ban whatsoever...

Here's the guidance: